15 Pet Parents Reveal The Crazy Moment They Knew Their Animal Was A Genius

Coming home to a pet is one of the best parts of the day.

The love and affection that they show is so precious, it’s hard to imagine a life without that warmth.

But, pets are so much more than snuggle buddies. They are true friends, and companions in life’s adventures. They are there for uswhen weneed them, and they understand so much more than we sometimes give them credit for.

These 15 Reddit users shared their pets’smartest moments, and I honestly couldn’t believe some of them. Animals can be so incredibly clever, sneaky, and caring.

Has your pet ever done something so smart that you had to do a double-take? Maybe you’ve even been outsmarted by your pet every now and again? Sometimes, all it takes is the will to get to the treats. But sometimes, they even use their smartsto help keep you safe.Pets are truly impressive creatures!

[H/T: Reddit]

1.

1.

“My cat yawned, so I stuck a finger in his mouth. He sort of stared at me curiously as he shut his mouth, but didn’t bite down hard. A few minutes later, he’s sitting on my chest and I yawn. He proceeds to put his whole paw in my mouth.” ihavespaceballs

2.

2.

“I heard my Australian Shepherd bark twice on the back porch. Abby NEVER barked unless something was serious. I ran back there and my cat had run around a chair many times and then jumped off the chair with not enough room on leash to be on ground and was hanging there choking. When I rounded the corner Abby was trying to chew through the leash. Best dog ever. Both cat and dog lived long happy lives.” shryke12

3.

3.

“While I was out, my dog pulled a piece of paper out of the trash and pooped on it so that he wouldn’t poop on the floor.” Archaeologia

4.

4.

“My dogs, Arrow and Beau ran off into the woods one day when I wasn’t paying attention. Arrow had a leash on. Beau came back alone hours later. I asked ‘Beau, where is Arrow? where is he?’ He led me through the woods to the edge of someone else’s property and started screwing around, soI went back home.

“Another hour or so passed, I was getting pretty worried, I tried asking Beau again, and he led me through the woods, same path he took before, this time I followed him onto the stranger’s land, went over a hill top and there was Arrow, his leash wrapped around a young pine tree and he was sitting in the sun, panting.

“Arrow could have literally died from heat stroke stuck out in the sun. Beau understood what I asked, I didn’t believe him the first time. He led me back a second time. and helped me find Arrow.” cbessette

5.

5.

“I have a parrot. We have a black cat called shadow and he comes when we say his name. One day I hear Oliver (my parrot) saying ‘Shadow! Shadow!’ while he’s in the kitchen on the stool. I look outside and Shadow is at the door begging to be let in.” xyloshan

6.

6.

“We were teaching the dogs some tricks, and the cockatoo was just doing his bird thing. Every day, the same routine: get some treats, call the dogs, sit, stay, lay down, roll over, get a treat, etc.

“One night we were watching TV and hear the cockatoo call the dog by name. ‘Sit. Stay. Lay down. Roll over. Good Boy.’ We heard something hit the floor, and then he called out the next dog’s name.

“Walked into the kitchen to find the cockatoo in the spot we always stand, giving orders to the dogs (who were obeying!), and then pulling treats out of the cup and dropping them on the floor.” MyNameIsRay

7.

7.

“Our cat hears the mailman delivering the mail through the letter slot in the door. He races to it, grabs each piece in his teeth, and then drags them one by one to the chair where I’m sitting.

“If a piece of mail is too heavy for him to move, he just sits at my feet, MEOWING, looking back and forth between the letter slot and me.” Back2Bach

8.

8.

“My dog Roger will start barking at the front door as if someone is there. My other dog Flash will immediately join him. There is no one at the front door, Roger just wanted to take Flash’s spot on the bed and all the pets.” Costner_Facts

9.

9.

“My dad had a cockatoo that would mimic the can opener noise and would yell ‘C’MERE BOYS!’ and the dogs would come running into the kitchen expecting dinner.” TargetDownrange

10.

10.

“There are two dog parks near my home and my dog preferred one over the other, but the preferred one is a bit further away.

“One day I was walking her and when she realised I was taking her to the closer one, she suddenly started to limp. I stopped to check her paws. Finding nothing wrong, I continued, and the limp miraculously disappeared once I started heading the way she wanted to go.” downtide

11.

11.

“I snuck downstairs and watched my small dog delicately push the chairs and a couple cardboard boxes around into an specific orientation, then wildly parkour across the objects in order to get to my dinner sitting on the table. He also carefully moved the fork out of the way using his claws so that it wouldn’t make any noise. I notified him of my presence right before he started eating and he just froze and then looked really guilty.” aspcaweb

12.

12.

“My cat has figured out how to turn on my heated mattress pad. Its just a little foot pedal near the headboard. Without fail I come home every day to it cranked and her cuddled down near the foot of my bed, where the coils double.” sicnevol

13.

13.

“She saved my life. I was sleeping, and started going into a diabetic seizure. My significant other at the time was a very heavy sleeper. She jumped on the bed, whining and barking until my significant other woke up. Ambulance was called, life was saved.” fr33andcl34r

14.

14.

“I watched a chicken teach another chicken how to get out of the coop.” cheshire_brat

15.

15.

“I would climb up to the roof sometimes to avoid my housemates and relax and stare at the moon. One night I climbed up there, and my cat was up there. He saw me and seemed to get very happily excited to see me. He ran to one edge of the roof, looked down, then looked at me. Then, he ran to another edge, looked down, looked at me. He did that at every edge. I figured out what he was doing. At the last one, I said, ‘Ok. Thank you for showing me. Don’t worry. I won’t go too far and fall off.’ He looked very satisfied, walked to me, and laid on my chest, and we watched the moon together.” MikDavid

Has your pet ever done anything so clever that it took your breath away? Take a look at the clever cat finding his way to the treats below, and

Due to restrictions, this video cannot

be viewed in your region.

Read more: http://www.littlethings.com/very-smart-pets/

The post 15 Pet Parents Reveal The Crazy Moment They Knew Their Animal Was A Genius appeared first on Pets Guide To Everything.

Leave a Reply

